Books + Crusty Bread and Frittata + A Little Pampering

Mang Ed in his little book kingdom.

Sir Ed in his little book kingdom.

Where did I go?

Jerbs Bookstore along Guadalupe. There is a small store along Guadalupe that most people don’t know about (or noticed for that matter) which sells, rents and exchanges pre-loved books for cheaper price. The owner, Sir Ed, who is also the one who maintains the store always gives me a warm smile whenever I scavenge for good reads. He’s also very witty and would often recommend books for the genre you are after. This guy knows his books! He even mentioned to me last Friday night that he has 700 books on his reading list. Crazy, I know, but I feel amazing knowing such kind of person.

This is heaven for bookworms like me.

This is heaven for bookworms like me.

I need some corny.

I need some corny.

Ayu Thai Spa. The short but packed trip in CDO left my body aching for some kneading. After a long Saturday, I headed to this place and let my body relaxed. I was so tempted to eat at the Tuktuk (this is the hole-in-the-wall Thai restaurant I was telling you about), but decided to just sleep on the craving.

Metro Market! Market! The fridge (and I) really need some supplies.

Salon. My boss was styling purple nails last week, and it was so cool that I want to color my nails too. I got a blue-greenish shade, and was so happy that I plan to use open toed shoes for work this week. I also got my almost-bushy brows a trim.

The feet and the feed!

The feet and the feed!

What did I bake?

Semi-wheat bread. I don’t know if there is such a thing but I made this bread made out of ordinary flour, wheat flour and wheat bran. Oh, and I added some dried thyme! I basically just dumped all the dry ingredients in my bowl, mix the water and yeast in another, and mix them together. I knew right there and then that it will smell amazing once it hit the oven. I got a little panicky when after an hour of letting it rest, the dough is not yet doubling its size. I realized that the water I used might be too hot that it might have killed most of the active dry yeast. After another two hours, the bread did rise but not as much as I expected. Nevertheless, the bread turned out just as rustic and crusty – a little packed but still yum, and oh so fragrant!

Nothing critical here.

Nothing critical here.

Some salt...

Some salt…

a bit of herbs...

A bit of herbs…

Dry meets wet.

Dry meets wet.

See? They'll all come together just like that.

See? They’ll all come together just like that. It’s like magic!

A closer look to that beauty.

A closer look to that beauty.

Let the dough rest and rise.

Let the dough rest and rise.

....only mine stayed flat :(

….only mine stayed flat 😦

But they still look awesome!

But they still look awesome!

Just before it hits the hot oven, give these loaves some attitude!

Just before it hits the hot oven, give these loaves some attitude!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Look at them…just look at these two!

Look at them...just look at them!

I cannot even begin to tell you how victorious it feels pulling freshly baked bread from the oven. And the smell of these loaves, my gosh!

Potato, tomato and mushroom frittata. Out of desperation to eat something good for Saturday lunch (there was no food left in the fridge since Wednesday night!), I invented a recipe. I didn’t have a recipe for a frittata, really. There are left over potato, some dried mushrooms and tomatoes in the apartment which I decided to utilize. The eggs I bought from the tindahan ng kapitbahay. After rehydrating the mushrooms, I sauteed them with the tomatoes and potatoes, piled them in the dish, poured the beaten eggs with milk, topped with cheese and popped the dish in the oven. Ting! And lunch was served.

You wouldn't ask for more.

You wouldn’t ask for more.

Note to self: DO NOT LET THE POTATOES BROWN.

Note to self: DO NOT LET THE POTATOES BROWN.

Vegetables done! Next, eggs.

Vegetables done! Next, eggs.

While you're at it, why not add some cream cheese?

While you’re at it, why not add some cream cheese?

Just before it hits the oven, ground some black pepper in there.

Just before it hits the oven, ground some black pepper in there.

Oh, hello there! My first ever super successful frittata.

Oh, hello there! My first ever super successful frittata.

Hot, fragrant, creamy, and healthy (?)

Hot, fragrant, creamy, and healthy (?)

I consumed both bread and eggs for lunch.

I consumed both bread and eggs for lunch.

Closer look of the goodness.

Closer look of the goodness.

What other things I did?

Aside from the obligatory laundry, I texted my Mama and called Ate Karen, stayed in my bed and read, glued my phone in my hands, and thought of what to eat next.

I had a really strong gingery black tea for dinner that I was awake until past 12 midnight. I almost didn’t make it to office morning cut-off!

To sum it all up, it was a pretty lazy weekend…refreshingly lazy.

Good Monday, yes?

– C

I'd love to know what you think! :)